Kärnfysikern is offline Retired: AR-Hall of Famer
    Well Im no expert deadlifter(acctualy I am a sucky deadlifter ) but isnt it best if you try conventional for a while and then decide what fits your body structure best?

What I do know is that conventional dl's involves alot more lower back, so if your lower back is a strong spot you should be strong in the convetional deadlift to I supose
    Last edited by Kärnfysikern; 05-20-2002 at 10:49 AM.

Kärnfysikern is offline Retired: AR-Hall of Famer
    Ohh hehe damn I realy have to stop reading the damn post so quickly

Billy Boy is offline Retired Moderator
    Personally I can lift a far greater weight using convential than sumo stick with what you feel is best.Sumo hurts my hip joints too much

chris245 is offline Junior Member
    Well i've never done sumo,and i dont plan too.

But basically,do what works for you. Why stop doing something that works right?

-chris

xxxl83 is offline Productive Member
    If you are going to try to change your lift you should try to do so long before a meet. Ther are advantages to sumo style IF it suits your body type 1. shorter range of motion. 2. Increased leverage 3. transfers the weight to glutes, hams,and less on the lower back.
    Keep in mind also some people never develop a good sumo their body types just aren't suited to it.
    Here is a great article concerning the deadlift and ways to improve yours. Please read it, as I am sure you will learn from it and improve your lift. www.testosterone.net/articles/194dead.html

Good luck,
    xxxl83

FREAK2 is offline New Member
    Little Girl,
    im gonna say stick with conventional. even though ive heard that your sumo pull and conventional pull should be the same. i tried sumo and it bothered my knee, so ill never give it another try.
    FREAK

CrazyRussian is offline Associate Member