Big "D" Daddy is offline Junior Member

Need a workout regimine for high school weight lifting team

I am starting my first year as a high school weight lifting coach and have a lot of good routines to increase bench, but need some input on clean and jerk. If anyone could give me a workout regimine that I could share with my guys, I as well as they would be extremely thankful.

musclehed275 is offline Junior Member

high school weight training

Im a high school football coach, and also coach the weightlifting team...I have formulated a workout routine, incorporated some westside, and used years of experience(20 yrs to be exact) and have come up with a good routine...Whatever you do coach, dont do what 99.99999% of football coaches do, since there is a lot of kids training at one time, they use circuit type training...this is garbage!
    clean and jerk routine...what you should do is have 2 days in the week devoted to strengthening that lift! heres how i do it, and my boys got really strong...I trained the JV boys this last summer, and they were stronger than the varsity! Lets use monday and thursday as an example...monday would be the day to train the clean and jerk itself...I usually warm them up, then have them do 2 sets of 3 at around 80%.. then some plain power cleans w/out the jerk2 sets of 3..then some clean sqauts...have them do a clean, then front sqaut the weight...Ill have them do sets of 4-6 here, then do some lat work and bicep work..ill usually have then do chins 3 sets of 8, bent rows, same, and some barbell curls and hammer curls...a lot of my boys forearms and bis are so weak they suffer in the clean and jerk! the next week have them go up to 85% for 2 sets of 3, the next week90% 2 sets of 2..then the next week, try a new max!