• 1 Post By Times Roman
  • 1 Post By Times Roman
  • 2 Post By Docd187123
  • 1 Post By Docd187123

Thread: Need help with pathetic lifts

redrum86 is offline Junior Member
    Blog Entries

Need help with pathetic lifts

Hello all. I just started lifting for the first time in my life April 21, 2014. I am a 28 year old male at 6'2 250lbs. I lead a sedentary life and decided to make a change. I decided to do Starting Strength and love it. Having no idea it was a powerlifting, I decided that's what I want to do because I really enjoy the lifts. My goals were to loose fat and gain strength and muscle. I have my diet in check and am eating on a 20% restriction and I know thats a no no in PL. This is probably why I am having problems as my lifts are pathetic and I feel like a wuss although I feel stronger than I ever have.

When I started the program on April 21st, following it to a "T", my lifts were as follows:
    Squats-75lbs
    Overhead press-65lbs
    Bench-115lbs
    Deads- 95lbs

I completed 8 weeks on June 13th and my lifts are still going up except the overhead press that I had to reset at 100lbs. They are as follows:
    Squats-162.5lbs
    OP-100lbs
    Bench 165lbs
    Deads-232.5lbs

Now compared to when I started, I had decent increases but overall, the weights are PATHETIC and I am somewhat embarrassed because I feel someone my size should be lifting double what I am now even though I am completely new at training.
    Aside from having hip pain from impingement, I am pain free but the hip pain might be impeding somewhat.

Can anyone offer me any advice that will help increase my weights? I am starting to struggle and the bar is slowing down more and more as I add weights every time I train.
    Also, would anyone know of any PL gyms in the nyc area, preferably queens that can help me train?
    Thanks in advance guys.

Times Roman is offline Anabolic Member