Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jackfrost88

Thread: Dead Lift Stance

Coma is offline New Member

Dead Lift Stance

So I have been doing my dead lifts with a wider stance for a while now (4 months or so) and have noticed that I am able to push, or pick up, more weight. Being that I am very short, 5'7, should I switch my stance between wide and narrow? I feel like I am no longer getting the full impact on my legs, but everything feels great.

monster-ish is offline Associate Member
    Are you doing deads strictly for legs? I feel like deads work legs but nothing like say sqauts I only do deads for lower back work

jackfrost88 is offline Associate Member
    Really depends on the person and the mechanics of your body. Even though you are 5'7 it doesn't mean you necessarily should squat more sumo style. Try different variations and see what works best for you.

Are you more hamstring dominant / quad dominant /strong lumbar / strong hips / proportionately long legs etc?

The way which feels the most natural and where you can lift the most weight is the best way

Being so short, which is super awesome BTW, I have always had trouble gripping the bar and still being able to dead lift without horrible form. I have tried using the diamond bar setup as well, and that seems to target my legs more than anything. I am quad dominant and have a pretty weak lumbar IMO, but my hips are just fine and I have never had any issue there. Having very short legs is terrible, but I can't really do anything about it, so I will just switch it up and see what works and feels the best.

Quote Originally Posted by Coma View Post