Beantown Abuser is offline Junior Member

(CAT) periodization training

I read the article on the CAT periodization training with percentages...Im going to try it for 15 weeks, what do you fellas think? i have been lifting for about 5-6 years now and I have done all kinds of different lifting programs, critical bench etc...and I need somthing different. Anyone have any feedback negative or positive? thanks bros

Ermantroudt is offline Associate Member
    I found I spent too much time with the heavy singles, my main weakness (Other than being weak in general) was speed, which I now address. If you are fast in general, you should do fine with it.

Erm

Hell House is offline New Member
    I've done CAT training before, I noticed it's very difficult to make big gains doing reps of 1 for 15 sets. Your body becomes lazy and accustomed to rare bursts. This may lead to injury.

UNNATURAL POWER is offline New Member
    I've heard good and bad stories about the effects of the CAT training routine. Fact of the matter is you need reps, even high reps, to build strength... this helps the explosive component of your lift. More then likely with constant sets of 15 your body will burn out and your muscle fibers will actually tense up slower, obviously making you weaker. I have heard about people getting good results but ultimately I don't think it's worth it to risk losing explosive power and overtraining your body.
    Peace.

-UNNATURAL POWER

Ermantroudt is offline Associate Member
    "I've done CAT training before, I noticed it's very difficult to make big gains doing reps of 1 for 15 sets. Your body becomes lazy and accustomed to rare bursts. This may lead to injury."

It is perfect for PL, which Doc Squat designed it for, we only perform singles in a meet, so doing singles in training is perfect practice for that setting. If you find you need more volume to make gains, bump up the assitence work.