gripex is offline Junior Member

Plateau'ed Bench, HELP!

I trained alot when i was in high school, about 5 years straight, my max bench at 16 was 305 for one, at 18 it was 330 for one. then i took 5 years off. im 23 now, and been training for a year. A year ago my bench was a measly 235 for one rep, 6 months ago it was 335 for one. (muscle memory, not AS). How ever last 5-6 months it hasnt got any better, in fact its getting weaker. I barely got 275 up today for one rep. Before xmas i tried giving bench a break and took 3 weeks off and only did reps with flys. same thing, still plateaued. I need to talk to an expert on plateauing. I did 8 weeks of winny 6 weeks ago (i got off 6 weeks ago) my strength didnt increase that much (i was doing 335 before winny, and was doing less on winny lol, like 325-330) so i been off winny for 1.5 months and my bench has really gone in the ****ter. what can i do? thanks

sigrabbit is offline Member
    I am no expert on plateaus, but I had the same thing happen when I did a winny cycle. My strength came back after a couple of months, and now I am even stronger. To overcome my plateau, I alternated bench and incline dumbells as my base movements each week. Hopefully a powerlifter can give you better advice, but I bench about he same as you so I thought you could use some encouragement.

Thanks man, just hearing about other people with the sameproblem helps alot.
    Im really wondering if this has anythign to do with the winny or just a regular plateau.
    grip.

i seriously havnt changed my routine in a year. Could this be the problem? I have never experienced a plateau like this before.

sigrabbit is offline Member
    I don't do the same workout two weeks in a row. Many people suggest changing it up every few weeks to shock the muscles.

dalcowbag is offline Anabolic Member
    this is the workout i use, and when i do platue, its only for about 2 weeks or so

Bench:
    week one-3x3
    week two-5x5