Thread: Bench Press

Bench Press

Alright im up for some advice.I've been lifting for 6 years.I'm 5'10,235lbs.I've had a pretty good winter ive doubled what my goal was on the bench(450) My current best single is 475 (raw) I was doing this routine 135x10,225x10,315x4,405x2 and then a heavy double or single of what i was wanting to do that day..a recent change by skipping 315 has added a lot of weight to my max and overall bench.Now i do 365x10 then 435x3 then go to my double or single.I know im wearing myself out before i get that high but i have pretty good overall stamina so i can go rep for rep for awhile.It takes a good bit to get me warm.I come from a small town and county there are only 3 people that can bench over 400 in it and they all lift at my place.Its hard to get advice from people that do nothing but gel their hair and wear corral necklaces and swear anyone that is stronger then them are on juice.This fall i tried the westside barbell workout.It was suggested by a former powerlifter that i knew.It messed my bench up pretty bad by the fourth week i decided just to try a little heavy free weight and i had lost a lot of power off my bench.
    Well he told me to stop because it was the first time he'd seen someone get weaker off of that workout.So i went back to my regular workout and i benched twice a week...Thats how i got where i am now..But ive been doing some board presses and stuff such as that to hope i can reach 500 in a decent amount of time.I'm going to really have a hard time puttin much more weight on before summer. Anyone with any workouts id be sure to consider..thanks

Swellin Guest
    It is good to see people reaching their goals! If you are interested in another program that should kick up your poundages, research the Doggcrapp methods. There are some threads here at AR, and on some other boards. His program is receiving the best reviews I have ever seen.