Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    guardian72 is offline New Member

Bring Back Hard Work and Volume Training

A little background:

I've been training for a good many of my 36 years.
    I have a Masters Degree in Biology.
    I also have coursework in Kiniesiology, Nutrition, and a Personal Training Cert.
    I am a former soldier (military parachuting mishap).

My question is this...When did this paradigm shift from volume training to some form of HIT occur?

I realize Mentzer made amazing advances and Yates took it to the next level, but now it seems to me that everyone is almost unwilling to train long and hard for fear of overtraining. There seems to have been a boogeyman created that eats muscle and destroys gains if someone trains long and hard. I see a "train less / more intensely & medicate more" attitude permeating the gyms of the US. I volume train with manic intensity and strength and am looked upon and spoken to as some sort of caveman for my efforts. I also medicate very little and with low frequency. Up until the mid 80's volume training was the way to go and helped mold some of the most visually pleasing and functional physiques ever seen, so again I ask, When did this happen and better yet...Why?

G72
    Last edited by guardian72; 07-11-2009 at 06:52 PM. Reason: misspelling

eatrainrest is offline AR's Personal Trainer
    some respond better to low volume while others with higher volume sets... my recommendation is slingshot which implements both. if you manipulate it right i think its one of the best programs. (1st sticky)

FireGuy is offline 9/11/2001~343 Never Forget!~E-HOF~RETIRED