Fame is offline Junior Member

Advanced Creatine Question

No i am not a beginner, or a teen...and i know my question will be better answered by a doctor, which it will, but curious if anyone here has any medical background, i didnt see any other forums on this site where to ask this question.

One of my uncles ( i have 8), was diagnosed w/ Cystic Kidneys. Which is a hereditary disorder.

So i guess my question surrounds:
    " As the disease progresses, kidney failure follows:

Increasing creatinine levels
    Increasing BUN (blood urea nitrogen)
    Decreasing creatinine clearance "

Creatinine obviously being the breakdown product of creatine...

I will have to get a catscan just to be checked out as that is the only way to see them....no one else in my family or anything has been diagnosed, nor their kids, but they said everyone should get tested in the family as there is close to a 50% to get/have it...Wondering if increasing the amound of creatine intake, therefor more creatinine will just speed up the affects of any disease that might already exist.

And again, i know i need to talk to a doctor, but i though someone on the forum might have some medical background

nsa
    nsa is offline King of Supplements
    Im an undergrad pre-med student. Not a doctor but i'll tell you what i think. If you are running the risk of having cystic kidney's you should not mess around with creatine, tren or anything that can damage your liver, yes it will speed up the time til you get cysts in your kidneys.

Fame is offline Junior Member
    yea i dont know much about it yet, my uncle prob knew he had them about 5 years ago, all his brothers, my dad, their father, my uncles kids etc all got test/scan and didnt have any problems, but from what i have read they only know if it as a hereditary disease, right?, so i guess that just gives me that little scare ya know.