T-101 is offline New Member

Preparation time of whey protein shakes

Is it ok to pre-mix protein powder (GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein) in water, leave it in the refrigerator overnight, and then drink it the next morning? Or would leaving a pre-mixed solution overnight spoil it?

Also, what effect will it have on my digestion if I don't blend the whey protein too well (ie there's still lumps of it in the water)?

Sorry for the silly questions, but Im new at this game hehehe....
    Last edited by T-101; 12-29-2001 at 11:24 PM.

PaPaPumP is offline Retired Moderator
    1. Although I have no studies *cough*hack*cough* , just mix when you get up, it doesn't take long. . .and then you know FOR SURE that none of the whey protein is being denatured.
    2. Lumps mean absolutely nothing, besides almost gagging to death when feeling a lump of choco-whey go down your throat. You can take a spoon and shovel that stuff into your mouth, and chew it, and it'd still be as effective.

Good luck bro.

EXCESS is offline Retired Moderator
    Yeah, I think you're safer to mix it in the morning. If you really want to save time, fill an empty (dry) water bottle with the proper amount of powder and then add water (or milk) whenever you want to drink it. Give it a few shakes and presto - instant protein shake!
    I think I might be the only person I know that actually likes the taste of the lumpy powder. I add less water just to make sure its thick. Mmmmm! Then again, I also eat glutamine powder plain with a chaser of water.

PaPaPumP is offline Retired Moderator
    Originally posted by EXCESS
    I add less water just to make sure its thick. Mmmmm! Then again, I also eat glutamine powder plain with a chaser of water.