Mr. Trenton is offline Associate Member

Question on chest workout???

Hey everybody,

Ok, now I've been lifting for about 7 years now, and when I first started lifting I used dumbells for chest, then I switched to the barbell for chest. Now I'm back to dumbells, and have been using them on flat and incline. I've been using dumbells now for about a year and a half because I hurt my left shoulder like 2 years ago on behind the neck shoulder press. So, now everytime I try to bench or do incline barbell press, my left shoulder hurts like a motherfucker, and the rest of the week I can hardly work my other muscles. So, my question is does it matter if I only use dumbells for flat and incline presses during my chest workout. The manager/bodybuilder at my gym said it was ok, but I've heard that you should switch from dumbells to barbell so your muscles won't get used to one or the other. And I plan on becoming a bodybuilder and would only doing one or the other effect it. If there is anyone who could answer this please help me. Thanks.

MrTrenton

PaPaPumP is offline Retired Moderator
    Well, Bodybuilding doesn't always work out like you want it to. Stick with what feels comfortable for you. I -like you, can NOT do incline on the steep "preset" angle that the gym has. My chest simply does not stretch that far, and if I don't bring it down far enough, I don't get enough work. I USUALLY stick with dbells for flat and incline. . .although I mix in some flat w/ a barbell and incline on the smith. Listen to your body. Have you ever tried hammer strength? They have an incline press which works VERY well. Also try doing cable flys on an incline bench. You gotta bring the bench across the whole gym (at least in mine )But it works. And then the next week, when you see a bunch of people doing the same thing, you can chuckle to yourself and call them a copycat.

Mr. Trenton is offline Associate Member