Slick30 is offline New Member

Starting to workout after Surgery.

First off I'd like to say that I just found the website and the info here is unsurpassed by any website that I've read in the last 6 months.

On to my problem, I have been battling a herniated disc in my neck for 5 years now. Each time that I have tried to start working out the injury would be aggrevated and I would have to stop for 3 to 4 months. This has been the cycle for 5 years. Finally the disc got so bad I had to have it removed and have the 2 vertibrae fused. Surgery was 2 weeks ago. I'm going to wait a month and after the Doc's release I'm going to start the building process.
    What I need are a list of exercises that I can start with to build chest, upper arms and neck. Please include weight that I need to start with. I am a beginner so I will have to start kinda light.

Thanks in advance for the help!!!!!

Fif the Great is offline Associate Member
    Greetings to a fellow Louisianian. Try working out with light dumbells for chest and shoulders. Do a couple of shrugs with the dumbells to get your traps in the action. But most of all, start very light. You definitely don't want to exert yourself at all this early into the recovery process. And (if you haven't already done so) you should OK any type of physical activity at this stage with your doctor, in my opinion. Good luck!

Thanks for the reply. I am going to wait for probably another 3 weeks before starting. I tried doing my usual arm work out with my 20 lbs dumbells but it didn't go very well so i'm going to wait. I was just trying to get an idea on somethings I can do when I start to get my neck muscles strong enough to protect the fusion. But in the process I also want to bulk up my chest and arms a bit.

TNT
    TNT is offline Retired Moderator

Re: Starting to workout after Surgery.

Originally posted by Slick30