doby48 is offline Female Member

Muscle Spasm - Sign of Injury

I have had a muscle spasm in my right lat for a few days now, no pain just irritating as all hell... anyways I did some reading on the internet and see that muscle spasms are sometimes an early sign of injury. Any truth to this? Like I said, no pain just bugging me the way I an feel it pulsating constantly. Tomorrow is back day and if this is a first sign of injury I need to know so I can take it easy if necessary otherwise I'll just hammer through my workout like normal.
    • Sweat plus sacrifice equals success. - Charlie Finley
    • It doesn't get easier, you just get faster. - Greg LeMond
    ExRx (Exercise Prescription)

Prime is offline Naturally perfect
    I get muscle spasams all the time. From my quads to my eyelids. Never heard it was supposed to be an early sign of injury doesnt mean is isnt tho

ripped525 is offline Junior Member
    Well im no doctor but my quads spasm from time to time for the past yr and with no injuries or pain. But dont take my advice on this, i would still get it checked if it remains constant.

CutMeUp is offline Associate Member
    I dont know if there is any validity to this, but i have heard that muscle spasms have something to do with water. what im not sure, but i think it is like drawing water in or something, like i said i dont really knwo, but ive never heard that it is an early sign of injury. lord i hope it isnt

a little more digging around online and here is what I found on US National Library of Medicines web site:

Muscle spasms commonly occur when a muscle is over-used or injured. Working out when dehydrated or with low levels of potassium can also predispose a person to muscle spasms. Some spasms are caused when the nerve that connects to a muscle is irritated. The classic example of this would be a herniated disk irritating spinal nerves as they exit the back causing pain and spasm.