Aggression is offline Member

2 questions about walking on treadmill

I currently walk 3 days a week on the treadmill for 45 min at 4.2 mph with NO incline.

1) Is doing this 3 days a week enough for fat loss? Keep in mind I'm just starting out.

2) Is it OK that I am running with no incline. The treadmill I use doesn't have it where you can raise the incline.

znak is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by RedBaron
    The main thing to make sure of is that you are keeping your heart rate at about 70-75% max (220 - age) X (.7 or .75). If you are in that zone, you will be burning fat.

For me, I have to have a bit of incline to achieve this, but starting out you probably won't. The other option is to just keep increasing the speed, but for me it is harder to find the jogging pace that keeps me in the 75% than a fast walk with incline.

Depending on how much fat you need to lose, three days may or may not be enough. If you have a long way to go, I would try to work your way up to 4 or 5 days. If you have only a little to lose, or are just trying to keep off what you have lost, three days should be plenty.

Hope this helps.
    RedBaron
    I use a little less scientific way. If I have not broke a serious sweat after 15 minutes, I dial up the intensity. (speed or incline)

MikeyZ23 is offline Associate Member