Physical_Specimen is offline Junior Member

ABS-the once neglected muscle group

Yo Bro's! Well where should I start, ive been training for 2 years now. Up til today I have never done a crunch, really never even thought about it. You know how it is, you first start training, your thinking about the upper body (arms, pecs, back) . . well seeing how I now have a fair size in the upper body region. It is now time to focus on the "neglected muscle group" . . Here is my new ab workout and the question I have will follow after . . .

AB WORKOUT
    Warm Up
    5 min on bike, Twist (with pole) 2 sets 15 - 20 reps
    ABs (done in order as listed)
    Air bike 3 sets 20-30 seconds
    Vertical bench knee raise 3 sets 12 - 15 reps
    Crunch (compound set) with hip thrust 4 sets 12 - 15 reps each
    Wrap Up
    5 min bike
    stretch out abs

So my questions are, how does this approach to getting lean, mean abs look?
    and most importantly people, seeing how I have not trained these, I am un-educated with on and off days . . so how often should I train abs? keep in mind that I want to train them the maximum limit . . . thank you people, your alright

and also, a compound set is sets done consecutively. Correct?

BDTR is offline Retired
    Weighted crunches on the decline board and hyperextension board. Hanging leg raises with a dumbell between my feet. 8-10 reps on all exercises. My abs respond best to low reps like the rest of my body. They got thicker than ever when i started low reps/heavy weights.

I train my abs once a week.

wow only once a week, are you developing definition in them yet? . . have you always worked abs once a week? . . .

Yea im gonna be going onto the declind board within a month or so after my routine that was just posted . . I think I want to build my abs up, get a lil more resistence in them before crunching on the painful declind board . .

thanks for posting your experiences

BDTR is offline Retired