mitch911 is offline Member

Question Cardio in Am ???

I am new to this idea of cardio in the am. I have currently switched my cardio from doing intense runs to the 65% mhr for 1 hour. You guys here say that it is much better to do it on an emtpy stomach in the am and then eat 45 mins prior to the cardio. Wouldnt this be extremely catabolic because your body has fasted for the past 10 hours. The glycogen storage are depleted and now your requiring energy to perform the cardio...wouldnt it go to your muscles for protein..Im not saying that it is wrong its just how i understand it..Can some1 explain the process to me..thank you

tycin is offline Anabolic Member
    cardio in the am on an empty stomach is best because u burn purely fat not wut u have eaten thru-out the day.

jmillerdls is offline Junior Member
    "purely fat" may be a bit of a stretch, but the message is correct. You are not burning off the food calories you have consumed during the day, leading to this theory of burning a higher percentage of fat...which may be proven at this point, i dont really know for sure, but i believe it and have seen results from it as well.

SwoleCat is offline AR Hall of Fame
    A.M. cardio is wonderful for pure fat loss, provided one knows how to correctly address nutritional needs the other 23+ hours of the day.

~SC~

decadbal is offline Banned
    the scientific answer for why its best for fat loss is there are almost 0 carbs in your bloodstream for your body to burn as energy, so therefore it resorts to stored fat as energey..

Blown_SC is offline Retired Vet
    1. Over 90% of people who exercise *consistently*, exercise in the morning. If you want to exercise consistently, odds are in your favor if you exercise first thing in the morning.

2. When you exercise early in the morning, it "jump starts" your metabolism and keeps it elevated for hours, sometimes up to 24 hours! That means you're burning more calories all day long just because you exercised in the morning!