Two4the$$ is offline Senior Member

Bolt-on Shoulders that look like bolders...

I’m not doing anything for shoulders, and goal wise this bothers me. I want BOLT-ON looking shoulders. They are one of my fav groups… but since I am a relative beginner, 6-3 @ 197lbs, I have been told to use these “compound exercises” … and that will INCLUDE shoulders… I.e., bench press does front deltoid, seated row does rear… Will this be adequate to get them bigger? And to keep them proportioned? Actually, I almost prefer DIS-proportioned, obviously erring on the side of TOO big. :-)

Jantzen4k is offline Anabolic Nittany Lion
    dunno what bold-on shoulders is

are you doing andy shoulder exercises at all?

add dumbell press or barbell press

Bench press and rows aren't enough for well developed shoulders. You want to hit them directly. Throw dumbell or barbell presses into the mix. I have good shoulders and I've always stuck w/ something like this- Heavy barbell presses, upright rows and front-raises. (Also hitting them indirectly from bench press, etc.....)

fitnessguy is offline Anabolic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by YounG_SluG11
    Bench press and rows aren't enough for well developed shoulders. You want to hit them directly. Throw dumbell or barbell presses into the mix. I have good shoulders and I've always stuck w/ something like this- Heavy barbell presses, upright rows and front-raises. (Also hitting them indirectly from bench press, etc.....)
    Young Slug is right. Incline and rows don't hit them directly. And i would recommend what's in bold too, just be very careful when you go heavy. Shoulders are something you don't want to hurt...oh yeah side raises also. alternate with front

Wait a minute, I'm about to expose my ignorance to a WHOLE new extent right now - WTF is the difference between barbell presses and Bench Press...? Upright rows vs Seated rows too.

Okay, so far what I've gathered is this;

Front raises [front delt]