Malvino is offline New Member

Guidance on some basic Q's

Im new at this but ive spent the last 6 months taking my health more serious, first i started running 3-4 times a week. Then i relized i was losing alotta mass so i took to weight lifting. I read that when starting out you should aim for a mixed workout stressing on squats, deadlifts, and bench.

1) When i do squats am i pushing up with my legs or with my upper body to? Should i go all the way to 90' or is 120' good?

2) I read that you shoudl keep to about 9-12 total sets, after about 8-9 i feel my focus is terrible i only get good pushes between the 2-6 sets, any advice to help build my bodies stamina.

3) Working out to fail is good, a post a little ways down said i should work out to fail atleast 1 time per session. Is there anything wrong with pushing yourself to fail everytime you lift weight? Because this is what i do.

4) When i work out with a weight i try for 8 reps but sometimes i don't relize how tired i am and i ussually go down a weight and finish off my body part im working out. Is this a good idea to do? Or should i just stick to one level or weight. Someone said to me im just making myself tired not the muscle when i drop in weight so i can finish my reps.

5) Sometimes when i work i get stiff muscles which im assuming is lactic acid, i go for a run because i heard this 'cleans' it out of your system is this true? also should i go for a run after i work out or does this run (slight jog till i can no longer talk with the person i go jogging with) just use up the muscles im gaining.

6) Some muscles i go to the gym n work out ussually legs n chest i get a soar feeling the next day but with sholders arms n abs i almost never get that soar feeling. Because of this im ussualy even more intense when i work out these muscles. What kindda advice would you give to maybe get that feeling like im working the muscle out.

thanks for your time
    Last edited by Malvino; 12-12-2004 at 09:49 PM.