randumb is offline Junior Member

Routine critique please (Should I do a split instead?)

I have been lifting off and on for a few years. I have a good bit of knowledge about lifting, but I've been working on the whole "put this knowledge into action and stay consistent" thing. I've had problems interfere with my progress (alcoholism and depression mainly). I started to get my act in order and I've been lifting consistently for a few months now. Even though I've been researching this for a while and have learned a lot, I still consider myself to be a "newbie" lifter based on how much I am lifting. After a lot of research and discussion, I decided to go with the full body 3x a week routine, in order to "build a solid base" and become familiar with the bigger exercises.

Here is the routine, along with my last workout's numbers:

Bench: 3x8x145
    Squats: 3x8x125
    Pulldowns (not strong enough to do chins yet): 2x8x160,1x7x160
    SLDLs: 3x8x140 (Can probably lift more but just got back into deadlifts, only going up 5lbs each workout to make sure I don't injure my back again)
    DB Overhead Presses: 1x8x80,1x7x80
    Crunches: 3x12

Problems/Concerns:
    1) Squats are not progressing well. I had a very hard time getting form right. I actually had to go all the way down to 95 lbs in order to get down to parallel. It took forever to get up to 125 because it seemed everytime I increased the weight, my form would get worse. It got to the point where I was squatting the same weight everytime just so I could make sure my form stayed proper.