hanger319 is offline New Member

Chest 2 times a week?

I've been lifting for 3-4 years...and usually do chest atleast 2 times a week. Today i was in the gym and someone told me it was bad to do chest more than once a week...and the same with every other muscle group. Is it ok to work the chest hard 2 times a week...lets say on Monday's and Fridays? I know this is a really basic Q, sorryy all

nsa
    nsa is offline King of Supplements
    Your chest should be sore from the stress you put on it when doing chest. It should be a good tight/sore for a few days following your workout, in which case it would be ill advised to do chest twice in a week. Bottom line -- you need to do something in your training that will stimulate muscle growth (i.e. increase weight, decrease rest, increase sets and reps). If your not sore from your first chest workout towards the end of the week then your not lifting with proper form, theres something wrong with your exercise selection or rep-set schemes. Always try to train progressively by one of these alterations to a workout: increasing weight, reps, sets or decreasing rest everything

Body needs time to recover to get maximum growth. Most will agree that it is in the 5-6 day range. So I would only do chest 1 in every 5-7 days. Or any other group for that matter. Although my legs have had good results with alittle more activity.

nathanw21 is offline Member
    i woould not work it more than once every five days. it does not grow when you are working out. it grows when you rest it.

nsa
    nsa is offline King of Supplements
    Quote Originally Posted by hanger319
    I've been lifting for 3-4 years...and usually do chest atleast 2 times a week. Today i was in the gym and someone told me it was bad to do chest more than once a week...and the same with every other muscle group. Is it ok to work the chest hard 2 times a week...lets say on Monday's and Fridays? I know this is a really basic Q, sorryy all