HOLLYWOOD is offline Senior Member

hardgainer question!

i've been erading alot about hardgainers lately, which i think i am, and all these studies say that basically in a nutshell if you're a hardgainer than you should be oly hitting the weights 3-4 times a week and should be a 1 on and 1 off type of split with only like 2 exercises with 2-3 sets. now because im pretty sure that i am a hardgainer, based on when i started training i was extremely skinny, with like 0% bf and a crazy fast metabolism. ok now for my question, because i've put some muscle on and im used to the training now should i incease the workout load or because of me being naturally a hardgainer would this still be the best split for me to follow??? also is the reason for the 1on 1off mostly for the recovery of the CNS or is it more based towards burning less calories???
    Last edited by crosby7117; 02-09-2005 at 03:08 PM.

getbig888 is offline Senior Member
    If It Aint Broke Dont Fix It!!

Quote Originally Posted by getbig888
    If It Aint Broke Dont Fix It!!
    so are you basically saying that if you werebaorn a hardgainer than follow the hardgainer training no matter how big/advanced you are...?

getbig888 is offline Senior Member
    no but if you are making gains why change?? if you are at a plateau try something new

bluethunder is offline Anabolic Member
    Doing a particular routine that says it is for hardgainers is bogus imo. Sure there are many good programs but diet is uno #1. Most ecto's are very hard gainers such as myself. After much experience you can tell what may or may not work for you but I think a good start would be blasting only one muscle a workout. And with some intensity and volume. If a hardgainer trains 2-3 muscle groups per workout then the body will grab the nutrients to the vital organs for survival first ,then recovery of muscles. And if you have 2-3 muscles then you can EXPECT deminishing returns.

Testsubject is offline Anabolic Member