Thread: Dumbell bench

bRKBEATz is offline Junior Member

Dumbell bench

My chest workout is usually dumbell bench, flys, and either incline or decline dumbell bench. I don't have a workout partner so I'm nervous about doing barbell bench without a spot. Is it OK to just use dumbells all the time instead?

Also, I'm up to using 65 lb dumbells (yea I know it's low but I'm relatively new to this) does anyone know what the equivalent barbell bench would be in case I want to try it?

taiboxa is offline "Vanity Redefined" ~VET~
    DBells > barbell
    and always do incline its great for a seksi upper chest!
    barebell is usually 10% higher than DB's or so it is for me..
    and make sure you keep all your movements SLOW and CONTROLLED... no need to let momentium do the work for you.
    AND FLEX at the TOP .. increase that blood flow

Dang, that means I'm only benching 143? That's pretty pathetic.

who cares its not about how much you press... its about how controlled and how well you press it

4U2NV is offline Associate Member
    Quote Originally Posted by bRKBEATz
    Dang, that means I'm only benching 143? That's pretty pathetic.
    Yeah probably for what ever rep range you do the 65lbs DB. If you can do them 8 times you can probaly do 143 eight. He didn't mean your 1 rep max. However why don't you just try barbell and find out. Not that hard.

Quote Originally Posted by 4U2NV
    Yeah probably for what ever rep range you do the 65lbs DB. If you can do them 8 times you can probaly do 143 eight. He didn't mean your 1 rep max. However why don't you just try barbell and find out. Not that hard.
    actually it can be VERY difficult w/o a spot
    just dont put clips on and i hope you know how to shake the bar

dood just kiddin dont try it w/o spot k? god i would hate to be liable for some dood dying from maxing on bench

ReX357 is offline "Toughest & Best Looking Guy Around Here"