jersey juice is offline Member

Switching from strength training to bodybuilding

I've been powerlifting now for 3 years seriously and lifting for 5. I am really starting to feel it in my joints and knees now and want to do more bodybuilding then just strength training. I want to keep the basics in my training like squats on leg day, benching on chest day and deadlifts on back day, but more for form and sculpting. Along with assistance movements can anyone help me put together a decent plan? ex:

Sun: (all reps between 4-8)
    db laterals 3 sets
    military presses 4 sets
    bentover laterals
    behind neck presses

Mon: (same rep scheme)
    squats 5 sets
    leg press 3 sets
    leg extensions 3 sets
    standing leg curls 3 sets
    calves 5 sets

Wed: (same)
    flat bench 4 sets
    db incline 4 sets
    dips 4 sets
    barbell curls 4 sets
    db curls 3 sets
    hammer curls 2 sets

Fri (same)
    deadlifts 4 sets
    bentover bb row 3 sets
    seated rows 3 sets
    lat pulldown 4 sets
    db row (alternating weeks with seated rows) 3 sets

I think I have a good mixup going now, but I feel like I'm starting into a rut. I have an excellent base, nice thickness I just want to start bringing out all the years of hard work and make my physique more asthetic while keeping my size and a good portion of strength. Obviously I want to grow more, but heavy doubles & singles are really starting to play on my joints and I'm too young for that shit.

DevilsDeity is offline Anabolic Member
    you could probably keep your workout the same but adjust your diet
    to define your muscles more, you might even want to bump your reps up to 10 on each set

jbrand is offline Member

Re: Switching from strength training to bodybuilding

Originally posted by jersey juice