MASTER is offline "I Own You"

Dumbells or barbell for overall development?

Wot u guys reckon is best, some people ive spoken to reckon barbell becoz u use more weight and therefore stimulate more muscle fibers, but others say dumbells because they use more stabilizers.

TADOLFI is offline Member
    Just depends on what you are trying to accomplish. If you are new to lifting - I recommend both to be worked in to your routine so that you can see how your body reacts.

Captain_test is offline Associate Member
    what do we think are "Best" as in.......what? Symmetry/isolation?=dumbells

overall strength/recruiting more muscle fibers? barbells.......but use both bro

Ive been training for like 5 yrs, its just my chest growth has pretty much stopped, ive always done both, but I concentrate more on barbell because I like it, I was just wondering whether other people thought dumbells give better results.

by better i mean for growth, clearly barbells are better for strength, this isnt a newbie question.

chest6 is offline Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain_test
    what do we think are "Best" as in.......what? Symmetry/isolation?=dumbells

overall strength/recruiting more muscle fibers? barbells.......but use both bro
    what he said

that means u think barbells are better, whereas swolecat always says dumbells are better for development, thats all i wanted, peoples opinions

Captain_test is offline Associate Member
    I would say...shock your chest. do more barbells, push yourself, experiment. try flipping the switch, and doing more dumbbells..try different exercises to reach different areas of your chest! I recently was doign this with biceps, tried a different way of holding the dumbell while i curled it, i was feeling sore fibers that i had never felt get "injured" before! good luck

chest6 is offline Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesC