Thread: tris vs bis

divinepwr is offline Junior Member

tris vs bis

I have been lifting for a few years now. In the arm department... I couldn't be happier with my tricep size. Besides my legs for some reason, I actually can see striations in my triceps... ( I'm like 15% BF ) Horrible I know. I couldn't be more disappointed, however, in my biceps. I just started training my bis 2x a week. I only did them once a week forever, but didn't seem to be getting any results. Any suggestions ??? I always feel like my shoulders are helping too much or something. I don't know but it's pissing me off !!! PLease help my little ass bis catch up to my bigger tris. Thanks

Papi93 is offline AR VET
    Are you hitting the back with basic exercises like t-bar rows, pullups, etc.? These movements are best for increasing the mass of your biceps.
    If these are in check, then are you cheating too much on your biceps exercises? Anterior deltoids, as well as lower back, can really take some of the stress away from the biceps if you're cheating too much.
    My favorite isolation exercise is the preacher curl bench. Just make sure that your chest is against the chest pad and your butt stays on the seat. The upper arms should remain fixed on the arm pad as well. On this movement make sure you are getting a full ROM unless you are doing Power Factor Training.

Flexor is offline Banned
    When you do barbell curls, keep your arms plastered to your sides and lift with a 2-1-3 tempo, really allowing a stretch at the bottom. This controlled movement will stimulate your biceps and give them a change from slightly cheating barbell curls which allow your shoulders to take up the weight at the top of the curl. You will have to lower the weight, but don't worry, it will feel really good to curl slowly and the DOMS will be good.