jersey juice is offline Member

German Volume Training

I'm used to a powerlifting high weight low reps scheme that I've been using for a couple years now. I posted about switching into more of a bodybuilding routine (scroll down) So I started doing the GVT program and damn it whooped my ass!! the idea is to take 1 mass building excersise and 1 shaping excersise ex: bench press & dumbbell flys you do 10 sets of 10 reps with 60% of your 1 rep max. Sounds light & easy right?? I made it through 5 bench press sets and my chest was screaming...at 60% of 1 rep max I was benching 185 and my reps started dropping at the 4th set. Gotta say that I feel great cause I know I activated something in there that wasn't getting hit as hard. The principle is to use it for 5 weeks and then to switch to a "regular" workout of 3-4 sets 6-8 reps for 3 more weeks and starting over again. You can do a search for german volume training on the web, one of the Poliquin principles. I'm gonna try it for 8 weeks and see where I end up.

caseylee is offline Junior Member
    dude keep us updated on your progress, and also any other info that you find mabye some links ? this sound s very interesting. and have any of you other guys heard anything good or bad about this gvt ??

NightOp is offline Member
    wow... thats alot of work.. how many rest days per week are u gonna take? I don't think I could handle that routine w/o overtraining unless I only trained 3 times per week.

jbrand is offline Member

Re: German Volume Training

Originally posted by jersey juice