Romeoguy62 is offline Associate Member

Each Body part 3x per week?

I have been lifting for about 7-8 months solid. I know, I know, not much. I began doing each body part 2x a week. Monday and Thursday was upper body and Tuesday and Friday was legs. I was reading around online and told pretty much to switch it to each body part once a week. I just bought Arnolds Modern Encyclopedia to Bodybuilding and he says, to start with at least, to do each body part 3x a week. Chest/back/legs MWF. Shoulders/lower back//upper and lower arms/ Tues, Thurs. and Sat.
    He reccomends this style routine until 5 inches are gained in chest, 3-4 in in arms, and 4-5 in on legs. I have not seen these gains yet from the once a week, so I will be switching to this Monday. Does this still hold true? I don't want to overtrain, I will be doing roughly 2-3 diff. lifts, each 5x10, per body part. ADVICE PLEASE! Thanks.
    BTW I am 20, 5'10, 210 lbs and get @ least 300g protein a day if it makes a difference.

SwoleCat is offline AR Hall of Fame
    You grow OUT of the gym when you are resting, not while you are in it.

I grow best working out every bodypart very intensely ONCE per week. Even TWO times per week, my results stall out and I tend to over-train. Three times per week isn't even possible, as I am not recovered quickly enough to train each bodypart that many times, no. I'm still sore 4-5 days later, there is no way I could ever train the same parts 3 times in a week, as 2 times is even pushing it and is rough.

Experiment, but I'd have to say this is a very bad idea.

~SC~

Duck of Death is offline Associate Member
    ..If you can muster up the strength to work out each body part HARD and THOROUGHLY three times per week you must be freakin' Superman!
    Yow! I am sore for three days in the body parts I work out...walk funny for two days after legs... No way could I do them even TWO times per week!

chest6 is offline Banned