Tommy Gunn is offline Member

Just started skullcrushers. Could you guys tell me how to properly do them?

I have never done skull crushers before in my life. But after doing some searches here, I can see that many of you believe it is the best mass building tricep exercise you can do. SwoleCat recomended doing them on a slight decline bench.

Here's the thing, I workout without a partner, so I have no spotter. Could you guys tell me how to do this exercise from the beggining (mounting the weight, doing the exercise, and dismounting the weight)?

Is it possible to do skullcrushers without a spotter?

Thanks fellas.

Flexor is offline Banned
    I wouldn't honestly see the point of a decline bench, because that wouldn't pre-stretch the long triceps head but there could be another reason. You would want a flat bench or a high incline bench just to lean against, IMO

Blown_SC is offline Retired Vet
    They're certainly a good mass-builder, as are CGBP's, JM Presses, Dips, etc...

This is slightly different than how I do them, but you get the jist of the movement. I usually bring my arms over my head a lil further...
    http://www.2-fit.com/video/sklcrshr.htm

THE CROW is offline Associate Member
    You can do them without a spotter. just put two milk crates or boxes at the end of a bench, spread out the width of your barbell or ez-curl bar. so that you can set the weight down on them without interfering with your grip. don't let not having a spotter slow you down. just adapt.hope this helps.

Warrior is offline AR-Hall of Famer
    They allow a good balance between a heavy load and a good stretch. Close Grip Bench Presses are a good mass/strength builder... and rope extensions would be a good all around strech movement for full-range mobility.