Romeoguy62 is offline Associate Member

best way to keep trim stomach while bulking

I am 20yrs old, 215 lbs, 5'8, 20.7% BF. I have been lifting for a year, but only really seriously for about 6 months. I would say I have been doing a quality bulk for the last 3-4 months.I have quite a bit of belly fat, and pretty much always have. I would like to continue doing cardio but everyone advises against it. Would working my abdominals out hardcore 3x a week also help in reducing the body fat on my stomach? Or would I only see benefits once I cut? I was thinking this as far as abs go
    4xfailure crunches
    4xfailure bent knee inlcine board leg raises
    4xfailure seated leg tucks
    4xfailure hanging reverse cruncehs
    Then finish with 4x10 (failure at 10) with weighted machine curls.
    If I do this on MWF, will my waist line go down? I haven't see much drop in my waist line, however I am now more proportionate. Should I just quit bulking and get cut first and then try to add quality mass? Thanks!

J.S.N. is offline Anabolic Member
    unfortunately you can't really spot reduce by working a muscle near you fat but you can tighten that area up.

really the best thing to do would be cut for a really long time and try to get to 10% or so. 20% is too high and hard on your body. i think about 15% is as high as one should let oneself get when bulking.

Ok. Well I will begin running more next week. I'll probably go for 45 min per day and bump it up to an hour a day later on. Say I cut my diet down to around 2200-2500 cal a day with the basic diet mentioned in the cutting sticky how long should it take to drop from 20% to 10%? Should I change my reps up as well? I am currently doing 3x8 for arms and 3x20 for legs (3x10 for squats tho)? Should I go up or down on reps? Maybe increase sets?

Squatman51 is offline Senior Member
    some cardio and clean diet

Girlyman is offline Associate Member