Poisonous is offline New Member

Total Body WO or Split routine??

My stats are 19 years old, 5'9", 140lbs. I have been working out for 4 1/2 years but have been slacking off the past 5 months. I have no been lifting much, mainly cardio, and a few lifting exercises here and there. I downloaded "Total Body Workout" by Mens Health in PDF format that gives you a form to fill out for your weekly workout routine, it helps you create a total body workout that you do three times a week. I used to do a split routine (lift only one muscle group per day 6 days a week). But after doing some reading on here I have found conflicting reports on how often and when you should workout certain body parts.

I am thinking of doing a S-M- Tuesday off- W - T - Friday & Saturday off.

I figure those certain days will give time to rest and fit in with my schedule perfectly so that I do not slack on my routine.

What do you suggest? I doubt a split routine is the best route for me, but you people here will know best.

What days should I lift for what body parts?
    I have seen so many different combinations, but I want to make sure I don't fatigue certain parts early in the week that have to be used during compound exercises. I am always sore for at least several days, and now that I am just getting back into it I don't know if I can handle anything other than a one-part-per-day routine. But here is where I get confused:

http://www.hypertrophy-specific.com/...iningfreq.html