slothy is offline New Member

Targeting the proper muscle

hi, i'm fairly new to lifting and am having a problem with my compound lifts. everyone always says to make sure your using the core muscle to get the weight up (use chest during benching and lats during rows, not your tri's and bi's for instance), but i can't seem to tell what muscle i'm using, i just pull/push the weight up. i guesse i don't have that mind-muscle connection, i don't "feel it" as i'm lifting, but the right groups are always sore so i guesse thats a good sign.

so is there anyway to make sure i'm using the right muscle group for most of the strength, or should it not be a problem if i'm using propper form?

(i'm not juicing, i'm here because you guys all seemed expirienced so i figured it would be a good place to ask)

diamonds is offline Banned
    My first suggestion would probably be to go lighter on you lifts. You said you were relatively new to lifting yeah? For now I wouldn't really worry about how much weight you use. Instead try and focus more on the mechanics of the movement, and focus on using the muscle you are working. The strength gains will come once you become comfortable with the movement. Slowing down on your tempo will help as well. really try and control the weight. Don't just push and pull the weight, control it throughout the entire movement. It will save you a lot of time and aggravation if you follow the advice: NEVER sacrifice forum for weight.
    This is just my OPINION

Flexor is offline Banned