Thread: Plateaus

NewlyDesigned is offline Junior Member

Plateaus

Well Ive been working out for about 6 months and ive seemed to have reached a small plateau. Ive been happy with strength and size gains so far but they seem to have slowed for the past couple weeks. I was Wondering what you guys think would be the best way to continue gaining and get over this plateau. Ive heard many things from increasing reps to changing exercises to even taking a couple of weeks off and i was wondering what you guys thought was the best way to get over it. Thansk a lot.

EDIT- Dont know much about making a split, should really read up more on here but this is one i made that i feel suits me.

Day 1 Chest/Tris Sets Reps per Set

-Flat Bench 4 12-10-8-6
    -Incline Bench 3 12-10-8
    -Decline Bench 3 12-10-8
    -Flys 3 12-10-8
    -Close Grip Bench 3 12-10-8
    -Push Downs 4 12-10-8-6

Day 2 Back/Bis Sets Reps per Set

-Seated Cable Row 3 12-10-8
    -Seated High Row 3 12-10-8
    -Dead Lift 4 12-10-10-8
    -Pull Ups 4 12-10-10-8
    -Seated Incline DB Curls 3 12-10-8
    -Standing Barbell Curls 3 12-10-8
    -Hammer Curls 3 12-10-8

Day 3 Shoulders/Abs Sets Reps per Set

-Shoulder Press 4 12-10-8-6
    -Arnold Press 3 12-10-8
    -Lateral Extensions 3 12-10-8
    -Shrugs 3 12-10-8
    -Incline Crunches 4 To Failure
    -Incline Twisting Crunch 4 To Failure
    -Incline Leg-Hip Raise 4 To Failure
    -Side Bends 4 To Failure

Day 4 Legs/Forearm Sets Reps per Set

-Squats 5 15-12-10-8-6
    -Leg Extensions 3 12-10-8
    -Seated Leg Curl 4 15-12-10-8
    -Stand Calf Extension 4 15-20 for Each (Failure)
    -Reverse Forearm Curls 3 12-10-8
    -Wrist Curl 3 Failure
    -Reverse Wrist Curl 3 Failure
    Last edited by NewlyDesigned; 02-01-2006 at 07:26 PM.

ryamigo is offline Junior Member
    first i'd say no more than 3 exercises at 3 sets, 8-10 reps for major body parts (chest, back, legs)

give that a shot and see what happens

musselman is offline Junior Member