dumb rookie needs help

Here is a little background before the question;

Age 40
    HT. 6'4"
    WT. 266
    Chest 52"
    Waist 44"
    Arms 16 1/2"

I have never worked out with weights before last week, but after fooling around with them for a few days I realized that this is something I could become addicted to.
    According to the "Fitness Calculators" on here I have a BMI of 33 and a body fat of 24%.

Now what do I do to get stronger and trim the fat to an acceptable level, and what is an acceptable level?

Pete235 is offline Retired Moderator
    As far as BF, the mean average for men is 18-22%. But that takes into consideration people who are extremely deconditioned. For an individual who choses to lead a healthy lifestyle (not competitive) I would say an "acceptable level" would be between 12-18%. That's a wide gap but how happy you are with your level of fitness is subjective from person to person.

If you are very very new the guys here can make recommendations on specific exercisies. However, in a nutshell, to get where you want to be, I would adopt a wieght training regime that had you lifting wieghts 4 times per week. Break each workout into body parts. ex:

Mon - chest, triceps
    Tue - back, biceps, calves
    Wed - off
    Thur - legs
    Fri - shoulders, calves

Perform 5 exercises for legs (3 for quads, 2 for hamstrings)
    Perform 3-4 exercises for chest, back, shoulders
    perform 3 exercisies for biceps, triceps, calves

* Warm up thoroughly and perform 3 sets per exercise, 8-10 repitions per set

Even more important is diet. Check out our diet forum. Do a search for "diets" and if you can't find what you need, post a question there as well and we will help.

Good Luck bro and welcome to the iron game,
    Pete

Big Al is offline Retired Moderator
    Pete's the man, good post bro.

3XL, Pete has given you some sound advice, might I add you stats are impressive for someone new to the irongame, on paper you have some mighty potential.