Thread: Martial Arts

Mole is offline New Member

Martial Arts

Does anyone here do martial arts? I did tae kwon do way back it was great for cardio and flexibility.
    I'm kind of interested now in aikido as well as krav maga.
    Does anyone have any input regarding the various forms of martial arts?

Billy Boy is offline Retired Moderator
    I,m a member of the WJJF and practise Ju Jitsu also looking to start up JKD.Ju Jitsu is quite stressful on the joints as it involves a lot of locks but it does help to improve flexability and I use it as a good form of cardio

Tobey is offline Retired IRON CHEF Mod

Here's a funny story for ya Mole!

I studied TWK, for about 5 &1/2 years. Toured in 95 and pulled 2nd place in sparring in the National competition. Kinda funny though, I was sparring this real young guy (baout 19 I guess) who was realllly tall. Man He beat the snot out of me the first round from all the way across the ring. His legs were so long that I had to really just suck it up and take a few shots to break past his legs to be able to even make contact. Early in the third round, I guess I got a little carried away with my kicks because I went to do a front snap kick to try and back him off of me and when my leg strated to come up and he charged at me my leg caught him right square in the crouch. OOOUCH, he fell like to ton of bricks in agony. MY girlfriend at the time had never been to a meet, and watching me make it up this far into the competiton sparring for 1st place she naturally thought that I had won the day so to speak. Bless her heart she stood up and began sceaming YEAH, YEAH, YEAH, Kick his but Tobey. I only recieved a warning for that stunt but little did she know that it was probaly the very reason that I scored so low in that match. OK, I have to admit that I was going to let it ride, I mean in her eyes I was KING KONG the badest M/F on the block right? However she figured it all out as that was the last day of the match and trophies and award