tard_zone is offline Associate Member

Break from training

Hey guys, I have been training for about 5-6 months straight and decided to take a week off. Is a week off neccessary to promote future growth? I can help but feel counter productive when im not in the gym and I know I am loosing some weight, because I can see it in the mirror. So when are rest weeks neccessary and how beneficial are they?

kaptainkeezy04 is offline Anabolic Member
    they are beneficial when you have for certain hit a plateau. if you have been working out 5-6 months solid with no breaks, then you should definitely take one. you will more than likely grow, especially if you stay on your diet.

"Maximus" is offline Anabolic Member
    Rest weeks are necessary to let the body heal and allow the muscles/CNS get in a relaxed estate. Not giving the body/CNS a much needed break/rest to allow for recovery, your training can backfire, and hinder progression and muscle endurance/performance.

Having said that, every 12 weeks -assuming that you are constantly training, on a 5 day training program-, one should rest a least for a week or two. This is needed to balance between pushing the body/CNS into over training and the appropriate amount of time needed for general body/CNS/muscle recovery. As you might be aware, too much or too little of both (Training/Recovery) can be detrimental towards your goals. So just get that much needed rest that your body's asking for and keep your #1 ally when it comes to exercise and training in check. That is, your diet!
    Last edited by "Maximus"; 11-05-2008 at 05:00 PM.

I occasionally take 3 or 4 days off when life gets to busy and I am not able to go to the gym....since I have these, lets say, once a month, should I still be taking 7-14 days off every three months?

MuscleScience is offline ~AR-Elite-Hall of Famer~
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by "Maximus" View Post