Thread: really confused

Meisel is offline New Member

really confused

Hi all, this is my first post. I have read a bit on this board and I am pretty impressed by the posters here.... I have run into a problem when it comes to my bench press. Before I get into that let me just give you a little back ground.... When I was 18 I weighed 170 pounds and could bench press 260 pounds once which I thought was pretty good.. I didnt lift weights back then. I just did push ups, dips, and pull ups.. I stopped working out(school, girlfriend).... Flash foward five years, I am now 25 and I have been working out for about 7 months. At first just doing push ups and some boxing training. I starting lifting weights about 2 months ago using the Bill Phillips body for life work out which I like because it is pretty damn intense........ During the first two months for chest I never did straight bar bench press. I only did dumbell press, flies, and incline dumbell press.. I have been working out with pretty good weight so then I thought I should change it up and try doing so straight bar bench press.. I started off really light just so I could get used to balancing the bar( using just 25 pound plates) and did 12 reps just for a warm up.. But then I added a little bit more weight and I was floored to see that I was barely pushing up 135 pounds!!! I did only about 8 reps and felt quite humiliated. I am not a small guy. I am about 5'9 195 pounds and getting pretty lean. My friends and guys at my job are always telling me that they wish they had my chest and yet I am lifting p#ssy weight. When I do the dumbell press I could do so pretty good weight but at straight bar it is like I have no streangth. I did straight bar again today for the second time and the same thing happened..... What is going on??? Can anyone help me..

BIG TEXAN is offline Respected Member