danimal79 is offline Junior Member

anyone else think hammer curls are a waste of time?

i've been lifting for many years, and have always done hammer curls. i'm a big believer in grip-variation in general, so they just made sense. but honestly...i have never gotten a great pump from hammer curls. they seem to give my joints a better workout than anything (same with reverse grip curls).

i think biceps are best worked with an underhand grip, or thereabouts. otherwise you can't squeeze the muscle properly. at least for me anyway. i get the best possible pump with dumbbell curls while turning my wrists just past the standard underhand grip position (at the top).

in the past couple months, i started focusing more on underhand grip exercises and slowly started dropping hammercurls alltogether. since then, my peaks are looking much better, and i'm happier with the overall look of my biceps. thoughts?

Dan111 is offline Associate Member
    I'm curious about this too. I see a lot of people on here saying hammer curls help build up mass on the bicep, whereas if you want to build up the peak you should do regular DB or BB curls. But I never feel like I get anything good out of hammer curls to be honest...

(Sorry to not add anything constructive danimal, lol, but I'm kind of in the same boat you are)

terraj is offline Knowledgeable Member
    Hammers are for big arms!

They thicken the arm.

I always end with a couple sets to failure of 80-85s on hammers curls for the bis/forearms workout.
    Last edited by terraj; 07-18-2010 at 09:47 PM.

dan: lol it's all good! just making sure i wasn't the only one lol.

terraj: yea? man i don't know. i just barely feel a pump when i do hammer curls. i've tried everything i can think of to give 'em their proper due. even just flexing and making a muscle in a hammercurl position WITHOUT a weight in my hand, the minute i twist my wrist to an underhand position, it feels SO much tighter.

Vitruvian-Man is offline Banned