Thread: Vertical

Jenseno9 is offline Member

Vertical

I would really like to increase my vertical so that I could finally dunk a b-ball. I know that a lot of jumping/explosive power is genetic.(fast twitch muscle fibers). But what kind of excersises could I do to help with my vertical? The last time I was tested it was 24in. For me to dunk I would probably need a 29in vert?!? As of now I do squats, leg presses, lunges, leg extensions for quads. And deadlifts, and legs curls for hammys.
    I guess what Im asking is that if there are personal training for athletes like track, or basketball, maybe they could help me with my Q?
    Thanks in advance!

Jens

partyboynyc is offline Anabolic Member

weightlifting does not have much to do w/it

bro,i was a 7' highjumper in college and i'm a former coach. plyometric drill are the key.you see, great jumper have great REACTION TIME not huge quads and hams.weightraining will also help, but i would make a concerted effort to do plyometrics drills post workout so as not to inhbit reaction time. as basic book to look into is Jumping Into Plyometrics.you can get it at barnes and noble or amazon.most everywhere

hopethis sheds somelight

let me ask you a question?

are you a power jumper or do you roll off your heel when you jump.think about it next time you try.the answermay give you an inch or two, how do you lead the jump?w/ your chest? is your "off leg" or lead directed properly?see, these are things guys don'tthink about.they just say, "yeah do alot calves and hams". you jumping muscles are in your ass.weightraining is obviously not frownedupon ,but simple "tweaks" in HOW you jump may give you a few inches

bump....any programs or excersises that I should be doing to help?

BIG TEXAN is offline Respected Member
    Like partboy said, plyometrics will help greatly also try doing power cleans, and the clean and jerk is another explosive lift. But yeah, try the plyometrics first.