havoc is offline Junior Member

chest injury, barbell fell on chest

hey guys, has anyone ever had the barbell fall on your chest while doing flat bench. monday i was doing flat bench i went from 225 to 315 to 405 and then back to 365. i was all pumped up for this work out and my spotter says when i was on the 3rd rep and i reached the top i opened my hands and the bar went right out of my hands and came crashing down on my chest just below my nipples. my stopper says he tried to slow it down but with 365 it was impossible. he got it off me quick and i rolled off the bench onto the floor. i couldn'r breath, it was fucking horrible man. i have been lifting for 24 years and this has never happened. i was rushed to the hospital by ambulance and they checked my liver, spleen, heart and lungs. i fractured 2 ribs but, everything else seems to be ok. that was the most scariest shit i every had. i'm in bed and taken pain meds. the doctor says i was very lucky. has anyone else have this happen to them? i know this has happened to power lifters, but i'm not a power lifter. the doctor says it was the combination of my spotter and me being 250 lbs saved my life. thank god for the juice man. if anybody has had this happen, how long will it take to heal. i'm a 1/4 the way into my cycle and this fucks it up. what a wast of juice man.

palme is offline Rosie Member
    Ouch bro! I think your very lucky you didnt hurt yourself more then you did! I know a bro that dropped 355 on his chest, it took him 6-8 weeks to get back.
    How could you open your hands? Didnt you lock your hand with your thumb?

clubbinkid is offline Associate Member
    havoc i couldnt even tell u how much that sux i feel bad how do u feel can u walk my ad vice to u is just relax take those pain meds and let time take its course dont rush ur self back to the gym wich most people would want to do because this will lead to worse injuries feel betta