RockyX is offline Senior Member

Chest and tris twice a week?

I have been doing my chest and tris twice a week for about 2 months now, things have been going ok but now what I would like...I lift chest and tris every Monday and Thursday because I heard it takes about 3 days for your muscles to completely recover. Anyways, now I am worrying about over-training them, so I am wondering...is it bad to do them twice a week? Should I switch to once a week?? Please get back to me.

xxxl83 is offline Productive Member
    Well what are your goals? Are you training with a powerlifting or bodybuilding type of workout?

xxxl83

Well originally it was with a powerlifting goal, but powerlifting is over now, and I guess my goal is more of a body building one now.

xxxl83 is offline Productive Member
    Well then it depends on how you train. If you train heavy and go til failure then twice a week maybe too much.
    You need to see what works for you personally.
    Being young you may be able to get away with 2 intense workouts a week and still be able to recover. However if you find your workouts are going down hill then cut back to maybe one heavy and one light day. If you're still not recovering well enough then cut back to once a week.
    This is where a training journal becomes most useful, record your workouts and adjust however you may need to.

xxxl83

withoutd0ubt is offline Associate Member
    stick to a muscle group once a week and really blast it...

from another post, don't forget to work your back and legs, lifting isn't all about tri's and chest

I also rarely get sore when I lift and I wonder if this is a bad thing. I do get sore lower body but that is because I do such heavy weight: 315 X 8, 365 X 6, 405 X 5. But I rarely get sore in my upper body....after a while is it okay not to get sore anymore because I swear I'm pushing out as many as possible.

yellows2k is offline Member