Thread: deadlifts

shannah is offline New Member

deadlifts

Hey.
    I'm new to this forum, and I've been lifting weight for about 2 years now, mainly strength type lifting for football. Now that football and rugby are out of the way I want to bodybuild.
    My main question is...
    How can deadlift work your back? I've always been under the impression that deadlift is for legs<hamstrings, quads>
    If anybody can give me an educated answer, I'd be greatly appreciated.

withoutd0ubt is offline Associate Member
    different types of deads work different things

sounds like you've been doing stiff legged deads

you should try romanian deads and learn the proper form

do a search, there have been like 20 threads about deads in the last month

flexgolf is offline Member
    lotta people do deads to make their lower back thicker. not the most educated answer but withoutdoubt is right. different deadlifts work in different ways.

thanks a lot for writting back.
    Yea, I do both stiff-legged deadlifts and the other style<football style?> where you squat down, not quite like roman deadlifts where it's inbetween your legs, but in front of the body.
    Anyway, i'll try the roman deadlift out and see what happens. thanks again for your response.

ripsid is offline Senior Member
    I personally for back reasons' have been doing deads from about the knee's up, just recently started using them again. Less strain on the back and more on the back and even some legs. Watch the form it can't be stressed enough.
    SID

Domestic is offline Associate Member
    you don't really need to do dead-lifts to work the back. i mean, the only thing i do are:

Barbell Bent-over Row
    Cable Close Grip Pulldown
    Underhand Chin-ups
    Cable Rear Pulldowns
    Barbell Shrugs
    Dumbbell Shrugs

those are the excersizes that i do in order to work my back & traps. and my back is pretty cut up.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails deadlifts-damian.jpg