Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By DanB

Thread: help with weak bench press

jsanman is offline Associate Member

help with weak bench press

a little about me
    im 21 190ibs at 6ft
    i have been lifting for over two years now, my 1rm bench went from 90ibs in 2011 and in july this year it went to 240 and its now december and i have had no progress so far raising the bar
    my gym partner has a year on me and he does about 255 2-4 times
    i really wanna one up him by the time summer comes around

does anyone have a good solid bench press ruitine they can show me ?
    as for nutrition i eat every day about 200g of protien and usually over 300g of carbs

fattywarbucks is offline Associate Member
    I know this is weird advice, but start working one arm push ups. I haven't benched in 2 years, but these brought my pressing strength up ridiculously. I go feet together. here's a video of me doing them in my youtube channel. They're 3rd in the video. last time I benched, I was at 255, so nothing magical, but I would have torn my arm off trying these. And they cut up your obliques.

INSANE FIGHTER WORKOUT! 1 Arm & 1 Leg - YouTube

And yes Im skinny. I compete in BJJ in weight classes. So I consider myself a jacked 12 year old girl.

i ususally do my one arm pushup with legs wide apart, would there be a difference? do you max out when you do the one handed pushups?
    usually i feel more on my abs then arms when i do those

sick video!

fattywarbucks is offline Associate Member
    Thanks bro. Try them with the feet close. Its a whole different planet. The abs are a nice benefit. And I usually just go by feel on the reps.

Blog Entries
    look up wave loading, this will bring your bench up fast

LbforLb152 is offline New Member
    Do negatives. Do drop sets. Do explosive reps. Use bands on the bench press. 5 reps 3 reps 1 reps. Every other workout. Research powerlifting form for bench press. hope that gives u some ideas.

hekki is offline Junior Member