Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Do you help others in the gym?

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by djgreen View Post
    just the other day a kid was in there with his mom and it was obvious it was his first time in the gym because he was using the ab twist machine all wrong I stepped in a said hey man you should set the machine like this and he looked at me like a smart ass and said yea I know hahahaha just goes to show even kids don't take advise Iv always said I wont say something but im for real now fvkem ill just keep to my self and let people hurt themselves and learn the hard way like I have a few time
    He was looking at you like that because you're an ugly mofo lol

Mitch535 is offline Junior Member
    I worked as a trainer for 7 years. When I wasn't actively training, I spent time out on the floor cleaning equipment, racking weights, and helping folks that looked like they need it. It's all about how you approach things. Instead of walking up and saying "hey bro, you are doing that wrong. You should do it like this", start by making idle conversation. Ask them how long they've been a member at the gym and how they are liking things so far. Ask them how they like using that particular machine or doing a particular exercise you've noticed them doing wrong. No matter how they respond, you can always say "I love that exercise/machine. When I use it, I like to do it like this because it helps me get a better burn/pump and because I find that keeping good form helps to keep me from getting hurt. So for me, keeping good form is doing it this way". That way you're giving them the suggestion and advise without pointing out their own fault.

I hate that people have their feelings hurt so easily, but that's how things are these days. Its all about how you approach people.

jackfrost88 is offline Associate Member