Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Quester
  • 1 Post By marcus300
  • 1 Post By Nephets

Thread: Leg Day.

MyStory is offline New Member

Leg Day.

I was stoked to hit the gym on leg day tonight as I was watching the Dorian shows and thought "ya man, it's gonna get done".

That was my attitude right up until the weight hit my shoulders. For some reason I can't get enough oxygen in my body to lift heavy weight for squats and stiff leg deadlift. I'm literally sitting down drenched in sweat gasping for air...

Now I'm relatively new at this so I do believe half my problem is too much weight; but I only put 180 on the bar. I've been at this for 2 years and struggling with this weight feels like a let down.

My question after whining like a bitch for 3 paragraphs is when you increase the weight do you require more oxygen as well? Seems to me the math doesn't add up as you only have 1 size lungs so how can people lift ridiculous weight and still stay concious... is there a trick or should I wait longer between sets for squats imparticular or swallow my pride and lower the weight.

PT1982 is offline Knowledgeable Member
    How much do you weigh? I use light weight on squats due to a back injury and bone disease, but I feel like it's got to get done either way. You might need to start a 5x5 routine to get stronger and be able to up the weight. Heck, start by doing 3x5s for a few weeks and work up to the 5x5. It really does work wonders for busting through plateaus and when the weights just seem to "stick".

MyStory is offline New Member
    Quote Originally Posted by PT1982 View Post
    How much do you weigh? I use light weight on squats due to a back injury and bone disease, but I feel like it's got to get done either way. You might need to start a 5x5 routine to get stronger and be able to up the weight. Heck, start by doing 3x5s for a few weeks and work up to the 5x5. It really does work wonders for busting through plateaus and when the weights just seem to "stick".