Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree55Likes

Thread: Tips For Making Gains At A Young Age

MuscleScience is offline ~AR-Elite-Hall of Famer~
    Blog Entries

Tips For Making Gains At A Young Age

If you were anything like me and had a lot of trouble making gains at a young age it can be frustrating to say the least. All that time, energy and effort seems like it was only one bad cold or off week on diet and you lost 10 pounds. Remembering that and having the benefit of both formal education and many years of practical experience I want to share some things I learned.

Many on here already know me and my background but to briefly give the reader some context. I've been lifting for 18 years now. Mostly straight through with some breaks either by choice or injury which we will come back too. I also have three formal degrees in human physiology and practiced as and exercise physiologist for about 2 years before going to earn my doctorate. Having said that, I won't get deep into the technical science in making gains because you can find that anywhere. I want to get into the bare bones of what it takes to put on mass. Which brings us to the first key point, consistency.

Consistency of Exercise Over Time

This is the first key point because it's in fact the most important. The only way for you to grow the muscle is to break it down and build it back up. Your single goal to lifting weights is to break up muscle fibers, that's it!
    By doing so your body repairs the damage and grows the muscle just a bit stronger and a bit bigger. The more consistent you are the better and more solid gains you will make. Both professionally and here on the board we hear all the time, "I can't gain weight I have been hitting it for 3 months now." buddy, it takes years to build quality muscle, yes I said years.