Mai_Tai is offline New Member

how do you know if you overtrain?

I've been lifting for three years now hard and consistent, but I'm a college student so once a year, I'll slack for a week, maybe two. I've seen a 20lb increase in muscle, but I'm pretty sure that's just from natural body developmen too. I want to jack up! It seems the more sets I do per body part, the better results. I get sore, and I feel that's a way to get big.

If I cut my sets down, and I still work hard in each set, I don't get sore. So how do I bulk? Am I overtraining? I can post a workout routine if needed. Thanks.

MT

TheMudMan is offline Retired~ AR-Hall of Famer
    Post your work out so we can see how many sets you do per body part and how many times you hit that body part each week.

Some signs of overtraining are:
    Join Soreness
    Injuries
    Lost interest in training
    Gaining fat
    Losing weight (muscle)
    Feel sick and tired

These are just some of the signs and just because you don't have them yet doesn't mean you're not overtraining.

abstrack is offline AR-Hall of Famer
    IMHO, Using D.O.M as a sign of growth or effective training is just plain out wrong. Just cause you dont get sore doesn't mean your not training right or effectively.
    abstrack@protonmail.com

Quote Originally Posted by abstrack
    IMHO, Using D.O.M as a sign of growth or effective training is just plain out wrong. Just cause you dont get sore doesn't mean your not training right or effectively.
    Hey abstrack what does D.O.M stand for?

Delayed Onset Muscle soreness
    abstrack@protonmail.com

Thanks!

You're right over the years I have seen that I'm not as sore anymore but still have put on quality muscle and shape. The only time I really get sore is if I change things up.