freakout is offline Associate Member

How many hours before workout can we have a proper meal?

I hope this is the right place to ask this.

I was speaking to a friend and I told him that I need to have a proper meal one hour before workout in order for me to have energy to work out later.

He disagreed, claiming that I should not eat anything at least 4 hours before workout.

I am rather confused as I have been working out for over three years and I have not heard of such things.

How are you able to remain energetic 4 hours after your meal for your workout?

What are the consequences if I insist in not eating one hour before workout?

My job is during the daytime and therefore I have only the evening hours for my workout. How would that affect the rate my food gets digest?

Thats the thing Im always depressed of. Uncertainties and unbased claims..

rambo is offline The Lord God
    He's a dumbass. You are right. Now go shove a pineapple up his ass for being such a ignorant bastard.

Atomic is offline New Member
    4 hours!!! Thats crazy! Say I have my morning meal at 8:00 and it takes me 1/2 an hour to eat it. According to your friend I shouldn't train till 12:30 and lets say my workout lasts 1 hour and it takes me 1/2 an hour to get home and have a shake AT 2:00PM!!! Listen it takes at least 1 hour for you to digest a meal which requires a lot of blood, if you train before that 1 hour is up the blood is going to the muscles your working out which will affect your digestion. I wait 1 1/2 hours before I train,2 1/2 on leg days. Tell your friend he doesn't know dick about training or nutrition & by the way this is the wrong forum to put this.

usualsuspect is offline Anabolic Member
    follow your friends advice if you want to lose muscle and feel like shit in the gym at the same time. Eating an hr before the gym is okay but it really depends on your goals, your metabolism, and what and how much you eat.

~US~

bornbad71 is offline Anabolic Member