AandF6969 is offline Made Up Of Wires

Unhappy Problems switching from muscle 1x/week to 2x/week

Whats up bros, I havent been here in a while I've been busy pledging a Fraternity and my grandmother also passed away. I've been doing every muscle 1x a week with a workout looking like this

M-Delts
    T-Traps/Back
    W-Legs
    T-Off
    F-Chest
    S-Arms
    S-Off

I've been drinking 3 protein shakes a day inbetween meals and have gained some weight. Ive been doing this workout for about 6 months, changing exercises, reps, everything but I still feel I'm burned out on it. I would like to change to every muscle 2x a week but how will I have time for it? Right now I do about 15 sets per bodypart and I would have marathon workouts if i added a muscle or two a day. I would like to only do legs once a week and everything else twice a week, maybe running on my off days. Could anyone help me out here with my split? Maybe some supersets? I really would rather not go to the 2x a day workouts yet.

Thanks

Shud is offline Associate Member
    something like this would work.......
    mon-thurs --- chest / back
    tue-fri --- delts / arms
    w --- legs
    sat and sun off.....or u can push the second ones to fri/sat and have thurs sun off....
    im doin that at the moment and i get pretty good pumps....

How many sets per muscle group do you do though? I like to do at least 15 to get a really good pump going so I make sure I feel it... I don't think I'd enjoy getting 3 to 6 sets per muscle group. I guess I'm asking if frequency of working the muscle is more important than intensity?

Shud is offline Associate Member
    chest back shoulders and legs around 3-4 exercises btw 3-4 sets each.......
    u have o remember your are doing them twice a week....
    with arms 2-3 exercises 3-4 sets...
    its all up to you....what you fell comfertable with...

saboudian is offline Senior Member