DoubleMint is offline New Member

Question Burn fat or build muscle ?

I am fairly new to working out and I have a serious dilema about my fitness goals.

I will begin by giving you some backround info:
    I am 27, 5'11", 173 lb., BF around 24%.

My goal is to lower my BF and gain lean muscle.

I realize that it would take a lot of work and dedication in order to obtain my goal, but I am very serious and determnied to reach it. I also realize that diet is as important as all the hard work that I am doing/planning to do. Currently I am working on a diet plan, I am still learning a lot about nutrition and slowly but surely I am coming up with a diet plan for myslef. Once it's ready I will post it in the diet section for critique.

I recently started working out, I am at the gym 5 days a week, I do 40-50 min. fat burning cardio after my lifting session. I would say that my lifting routine is pretty good, I work out with a friend, he has been doing it for couple of years now so I rely on his knowledge and experience.

I don't know if I should concentrate on losing my BF by doing my cardio sessions or should I lay off a bit on cardio and focus on lifting ?

Is there any way of me getting both things taken care of at the same time ?

I need your help on this one.

Thanks,

MATT

sigrabbit is offline Member
    You can and should incorporate both to lose bodyfat and maintain or gain muscle. I would suggest limiting your workouts to 45mins to 1 hour, and don't do cardio for more than a half hour afterwards. You should do cardio everyday first thing in the morning on an empty stomach for 45-60 minutes, then work out later in the day. Post your diet when you put it together and we can help you out.

TheGame826 is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by sigrabbit