Slugger is offline Junior Member

Never done squats or deads. How to get started?

I was thinking of starting both at say 95 lbs for a set of 10 and pyramid down to 8,6,4,2 while jumping 10 lbs every set. I'm 6' 210 24 years old. Is 95 lbs. too light? Too heavy? This is for a complete newbie to squats.

still growin is offline Member
    [QUOTE=Slugger]I was thinking of starting both at say 95 lbs for a set of 10 and pyramid down to 8,6,4,2 while jumping 10 lbs every set. I'm 6' 210 24 years old. Is 95 lbs. too light? Too heavy? This is for a complete newbie to squats.[/QU

You need to find a weight that YOU can comfortably do for the desired number of reps. The first time, try 95, wich imo is light, and see how many reps you can do before you get tired. You should try to do 12-15 reps first set, then 12, 10, 8, 6. 2 reps is only asking to show off ( which you aren't) or get hurt. After a few tries you will see what fits you best.

daem is offline Anabolic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by SGFuryZ
    Make sure your form is correct. It's more important that you perfect your technique before actually squatting or d/l'ing heavy...
    with your size i completely agree that 95 might be too light of a working set weight, but it will be perfect for you to get the feel of the movement.

since you are completely new to squats and deads i would aim to have perfect form every rep so your body gets used to the new stress.

at your size i would start with a plate on each side for 135 because your quads will have to be that strong to carry your 210 frame. adjust from there...

perfect your form and watch those quads/hammies grow along with the stack of plates on each side!

good luck.

RageControl is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by daem
    since you are completely new to squats and deads i would aim to have perfect form every rep so your body gets used to the new stress.
    good luck.